Howard Family Medicine Resident Wins Immunization Award

WASHINGTON (June 28) -- The Howard University Family Medicine Residency Program at Howard University Hospital and the College of Medicine has been named recipient of a 2010 American Academy of Family Physicians (AAPF) Foundation Pfizer Immunization Award.

Howard University was one of 10 recipients of the awards, which are given to “family medicine residency programs that have achieved excellence in clinical practice by developing creative solutions that result in increased immunization rates in their communities,” AAFP Foundation announced.

Richard G. Roberts, M.D., J.D., president of the AAFP Foundation, said he hoped other physicians would be inspired to replicate the efforts of Howard and the other Family Medicine Residency Programs.

 “Thanks to immunizations, deadly diseases like small pox and polio no longer kill or disable millions,” Roberts said.  “Getting our children immunized at the right time protects them and improves the health of our community.”

Dr. Babafemi Adenuga, program director for the Family Medicine Residency Program, interim chair of the Department of Community and Family Medicine at the College of Medicine and the hospital, said the program was grateful to receive the award.

“We strive to give back to the community,” said Adenuga, also president-elect of the hospital’s medical and dental staffs.  “This is a way that we can help prevent diseases among children.  So, we see it as a community focus.

“I particularly would like to applaud the efforts of Dr. Kandie Tate, an uprising third-year resident in the Family Medicine program who took on the initiative and developed the process for improving our immunization rates amongst infants and children at the Family Health Center.”
The awards provide monetary grants and scholarships for medical residents to attend the AAFP’s National Conference, a three-day event held during July in Kansas City, Mo., designed for residents and medical students to share ideas with family medicine educators and leaders from across the nation.

The other recipients of the awards were:

  • Brooklyn Hospital Center Family Medicine Residency, Brooklyn, N.Y.
  • Glendale Adventist Family Medicine Residency Program, Glendale, Calif.
  • Medical College of Wisconsin St. Joseph Family Medicine Residency Program, Milwaukee, Wis.
  • RiverStone Health/Montana Family Medicine Residency, Billings, Mont.
  • St. Joseph Regional Medical Center Family Medicine Residency Program, South Bend, Ind.
  • St. Louis University Belleville Family Medicine Residency, Belleville, Ill.
  • University of Alabama Huntsville Family Medicine Residency Program, Huntsville, Ala.
  • Wesley Family Medicine Residency, Wichita, Kan.
  • Western Reserve Care System Family Medicine Residency, Youngstown, Ohio

The 2010 AAFP Foundation Pfizer Immunization Award winners were chosen for their ability to find and implement team-based solutions that increase immunization rates, said Craig M. Doane, executive director of the AAFP Foundation.
 “The AAFP Foundation applauds this year’s program winners for their dedication to protecting children from infectious diseases and to raising awareness of the importance of immunizations to a community’s health and well-being,” Doane said.  “We are proud to recognize programs that share our vision of achieving optimal health for everyone.”

News Search Form
2018 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009