Dr Akala

WASHINGTON (April 1, 2013) – Emmanuel O. Akala, Ph.D., professor of Pharmaceutics and director of the Laboratory for Nanomedicine, has been named the 2013 “Distinguished Faculty Member of the Year” by the Howard University School of Pharmacy Alumni Association.

The association will honor Akala on Saturday, April 13, as a part of the annual Howard University Pharmacy Alumni Association Gala dinner at the Marriott Hotel in Greenbelt, Md.

Akala has taught and mentored more than 1,000 doctor of pharmacy students during his time as a general and graduate level professor at the College of Pharmacy, including six masters students and four Ph.D. students.  He has also mentored seven postdoctoral research fellows. He serves as the chapter faculty advisor for the College of Pharmacy fraternity, Rho Chi Society, Beta Sigma Chapter.

“Having served on faculty and supported the students for so many years, it is only befitting that you be the recipient of such honor,” Wallene Bullard, president of the alumni association, said in a letter to Akala.

Akala received his Bachelors of Pharmacy in 1980 from the University of Ife in Ile-Ife, Nigeria. He served as a DAAD Research Fellow with the German Academic Exchange Program in 1993, which awarded him the opportunity to conduct research in Germany.  He is a registered pharmacist in Nigeria, Utah, Maryland and Washington.

In addition to teaching, Akala has made many contributions to the College of Pharmacy.  He was the recipients of several research grants, including the $2.0 million grant for renovating the third floor of the College of Pharmacy and a $3.5 million grant from the National Institutes of Health and the National Center for Research Resources for the renovation of the first and ground floors in the College of Pharmacy, which now house respectively the Multipurpose Pharmacy Practice laboratory and the Pharmaceutical Compounding Laboratory and the Center for Drug Research and Development.

News Search Form
2018 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009